Academy Presents New Theatrical Screening Program: “Oscars® Spotlight: Documentary Feature Shortlist”

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, led by its Future of Film Committee, will present “Oscars® Spotlight: Documentary Feature Shortlist,” a new program showcasing the 15 shortlisted documentary feature films in contention for the 91st Oscars. The films will screen theatrically in 13 cities nationwide starting December 31, 2018 through January 21, 2019. […]

347 Feature Films In Contention For 2018 Best Picture Oscar®

Three hundred forty-seven feature films are eligible for the 2018 Academy Awards®, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today. To be eligible for 91st Academy Awards consideration, feature films must open in a commercial motion picture theater in Los Angeles County by December 31, and begin a minimum run of seven consecutive […]

91st Oscars Shortlists Nine Award Categories Announced

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced shortlists in consideration for the 91st Oscars® in nine categories: Documentary Feature, Documentary Short Subject, Foreign Language Film, Makeup and Hairstyling, Music (Original Score), Music (Original Song), Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film and Visual Effects. To download shortlists by category, visit DOCUMENTARY […]

9 Scientific And Technical Achievements To Be Honoured With Academy Awards®

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that nine scientific and technical achievements represented by 27 individual award recipients will be honored at its annual Scientific and Technical Awards Presentation on Saturday, February 9, 2019, at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills. In addition, cinematographer Curtis Clark will receive the John A. […]

76th Golden Globes Nominations And Winners

Best Motion Picture – Drama “Black Panther” “BlacKkKlansman” “Bohemian Rhapsody” – WINNER “If Beale Street Could Talk” “A Star Is Born” Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama Glenn Close (“The Wife”) – WINNER Lady Gaga (“A Star Is Born”) Nicole Kidman (“Destroyer”) Melissa McCarthy (“Can You Ever Forgive Me?”) Rosamund Pike (“A Private […]

Journalism The Winner At Sikuvile Awards

This year’s Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards winners are a showcase of the bravery of local journalists who strive to bring stories of public interest to citizen’s attention, thus bringing into effect change in the country. The South African Story of Year was awarded to the Gupta Leaks, a collaboration between journalists from the Daily […]

Girl Power Reigns Supreme In Cartoon Network, Save The Children Partnership

If the number of entries already received for the Powerpuff Girls Awards are anything to go by, then many young girls are quietly playing their roles in society through innovation, creativity and technology. The PPG Awards were launched in August with the aim to celebrate and empower young African girls between the ages of 9 […]

Submission Deadlines For 2018 Oscars® Approaching

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today published its list of upcoming submission deadlines for 91st Academy Awards® consideration. Submissions for individual categories and the General Entry/Oscars Submission Form (OSF) are due by 5 p.m. PT on the following dates: Monday, October 1 Animated Feature Film Documentary Feature Documentary Short Subject Foreign Language […]

Academy Reveals Winning Nicholl Screenwriters

Scripts to be performed at live read in November Three individuals and one writing team have been selected as winners of the 2018 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition.  The fellows will each receive a $35,000 prize, the first installment of which will be distributed at the Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Awards Presentation & […]

Cinemark Wins At The Most Awards 2018

Cinemark bagged the first place in the Cinema category at this year’s 10th Annual MOST Awards celebration, another win for the group for four consecutive years. The MOST Awards is a celebration of excellence in the media sector. The winners were announced at a prestigious event on Thursday, 13 September 2018 at The Wanderers Club […]

%d bloggers like this: