Television Academy Announces Newly Elected Officers And Governors For 2022-2023 Term

The Television Academy today announced the newly elected officers and members to the Board of Governors who will serve two-year terms beginning on Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2023. An unprecedented 41% of those elected are new to the Academy’s boardroom, including two governors representing the newly created Science & Technology Peer Group.

Current Chairman and CEO Frank Scherma (Commercials and Producers Peer Groups) was reelected for a second term. He will be joined by Vice Chair Sharon Lieblein (Casting Directors), Second Vice Chair Rickey Minor (Music), Secretary Allison Binder (Professional Representatives) and Treasurer Ann Leslie Uzdavinis (Commercials). All will serve a two-year term.

Academy’s Board of Governors for 2022

The 25 newly elected governors who will serve their first-ever term are: Anya Adams (Directors); Kaz Aizawa (Animation); Wendy Aylsworth (Science & Technology); Edward H. Bonin (Special Visual Effects); Shannon Buck (Public Relations); Nikki Carbonetta (Makeup Artists/Hairstylists); Sherri Chung (Music); Ana Criado (Motion & Title Design); Nicole Demerse (Writers); Nena Erb, ACE (Picture Editors); Kim Estes (Performers); Scott A. Freeman (Reality Programming);
Stephanie Hampton (Los Angeles Area); Marc Hirschfeld, CSA (Casting Directors); Dominique Kelley (Choreography); Kira Kelly, ASC (Cinematographers); Senain Kheshgi (Documentary Programming); Charlie McBrearty (Commercials); George Mooradian, ASC (Cinematographers); Phillip W. Palmer, CAS (Sound); Larry
Rosenthal (Stunts); Hollann Sobers (Production Executives); Vito Trotta (Makeup Artists/Hairstylists); Steve Viola (Motion & Title Design); and Barry B. Zegel (Science & Technology).

Seven governors were reelected to serve a second term: Debra Curtis (Television Executives), Laura Guzik (Costume Design & Supervision), Bryan Leder (Professional Representatives), David Plakos (Lighting, Camera & Technical Arts), Keith Raskin (Producers), Troy Underwood (Children’s Programming), James Yarnell (Art Directors/Set Decorators).

Additionally, two of the governors elected are returning to the board to serve a new two-year term after a multiple-year absence from the Television Academy’s governing body: Brenda Brkusic Milinkovic (Daytime Programming) and Christopher B. Reeves (Sound Editors).

By Andrew Germishuys

Founder of SAMDB, Andrew has worked full time in the film industry since the early 2000's. He has trained as an actor, completing his LAMDA Gold Medal, and attending many courses in Cape Town acting studios, with masterclasses with some of the international industries top directors, producers and filmmakers. Working as an actor and armourer in the film and television industry have given Andrew a great balance of skills across the board when it comes to the entertainment industry. Catch him on Twitter: Instagram: IMDb:

%d bloggers like this: