All The Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards 2022 Winners

Hosted by the South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) and sponsored by Standard Bank, the first live Standard Bank Sikuvile Journalism Awards since 2019, saw the Daily Maverick’s Pieter-Louis Myburgh winning Story of the Year for Digital Vibes.

Myburgh also won the Investigative Journalism category for ‘’Digital Vibes’’ in Daily Maverick. He was one of several journalists who won the Investigative Journalism category in 2018 for the collaborative body of work “Gupta Leaks”. He is also the author of the book: Gangster State (Penguin Random House).

The Upcoming/ Rising Star of the Year was shared by Shonisani Tshikalange of the Sunday Times and TimesLIVE and Onke Ngcuka, Daily Maverick. Ngcuka was a finalist in the Lifestyle category.

The Allan Kirkland Soga: Lifetime Achiever Award honoured Anthony Heard.

All category winners received the coveted Sikuvile Journalism Award Trophy, certificate and R15,000 prize money. All finalists also receive certificates.

The 2022 Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards winners:

Category 1: Hard News


Winner:Team News 24“July Unrest Breaking News”
Commendation:Mike Loewe“35 Fuel Stations dump Shell”Daily Dispatch

Category 3: Community Service Reporting

Winner:Nomvuyo Ntanjana“Tatum De Pearce”SABC 2 And SABC News Channel 404
Commendation:Khaya Koko“Defenders of the last Complex standing”Mail And Guardian
Commendation:Don Pinnock“The evicted residents of District Six were robbed of the golden threads of Community”Daily Maverick

Category 4: Investigative Journalism

Winner:Pieter-Louis Myburgh “Digital Vibes”Daily Maverick

Category 5: Columns /Editorial

Winner:Mia Malan“The joke’s on us, South Africa”
Bhekisisa Centre for Health Journalism
Commendation:Setumo Stone“The EFF masterstroke”City Press
Commendation:Johanna Van Eeden“Hoekom is ons so geskok?”Beeld
Commendation:Willemien Brümmer
“Dis hoekom ons moet leer om ook na Nzimande te luister”Netwerk24

Category 6: Visual Journalism (Editorial Cartoons & Graphic Layout)

WINNER:Jaco Grobbelaar Arisa Janse Van Rensburg“Een jaar sedert eerste Covid-19-geval in SA”Netwerk24, Beeld & Die Burger

Category 7: Features

WINNER:Willemien Brümmer
BODY OF WORK “Pandemie van verdriet”Netwerk24
Commendation:Don PinnockBODY OF WORK “Nature’s Defenders”Daily Maverick

Category 9: News Photographs

WINNER:Phandulwazi Jikelo
“Refugees left stranded without ablution facilities”Cape Times

Category 10: Feature Photographs

Winner:Lucas Ledwaba
“Women bear brunt of gold mining’s rotten legacy”Mukurukuru Media

Category 11: Sports Photographs

Winner:Phandulwazi Jikelo
“Red Bull King of the air”
African News Agency

Category 12: Lifestyle

Winner:Graham Wood
“Kentridgenomics: What rocketing prices for William’s work say about SA’s art market”Financial Mail

There were no nominations for Category 2: Indigenous Language Reporting In Community Media and

Category 8: Popular Journalism.

Category 13: Upcoming/ Rising Star of the Year:

Shonisani Tshikalange and Onke Ngcuka

Category 14: Story of the Year:

Pieter-Louis Myburgh, Digital Vibes, Daily Maverick

Category 15: Allan Kirkland Soga: Lifetime Achiever Award

Anthony Heard

Published in
Categorised as Awards

By Andrew Germishuys

Founder of SAMDB, Andrew has worked full time in the film industry since the early 2000's. He has trained as an actor, completing his LAMDA Gold Medal, and attending many courses in Cape Town acting studios, with masterclasses with some of the international industries top directors, producers and filmmakers. Working as an actor and armourer in the film and television industry have given Andrew a great balance of skills across the board when it comes to the entertainment industry. Catch him on Twitter: Instagram: IMDb:

%d bloggers like this: